BS Mechanical Engineering but MS Software Engineering

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

hubertcy in Minneapolis, Minnesota

15 months ago

My situation is a little different. I have been working as a mechanical engineer for 3 years and making $60,000. I would like to be a software engineer so I can make much more. My friend just got his master degree in Software Engineering just got an offer at Amazon with a starting pay at $120,000. Besides money, I also see a deadend being a mechanical engineer but I need to fill my stomach. I know I'll never make that figure as a mechanical engineer since I don't intend to move up and be a manager. I was accepted to a grad program in software engineering. I am wondering if it's worthy or too late to change route because by the time I earn my degree in software, I'll have 6 years of mechanical experience. Would companies look at me as fresh graduate? or would they look at me as an experience engineer even though not in software field? Basically, will I just be wasting all the years I have been working as a mechanical engineer? Also, how do I use my mechanical experience as an advantage?

Thanks,

Hubert Chen

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

anjal in Toronto, Ontario

3 months ago