Moving From Accounting/Finance to Software Engineering

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

financetosoftware in Lowell, Massachusetts

68 months ago

Just wondering if anybody is in the same situation as me, as I understand most people are the other way around. I graduated with a BS in Accounting, and went for my Master's in Finance. However, I soon discovered that the finance field is way too political, so I'm trying to get out of it right now. I'm in my late twenties, and through my four years in the corporate business world, I've discovered that my career has come to a standoff. I've started to catch up with pre-requisites for a Master's in Computer Science from Boston University. So far, I've finished Calculus I, II, III, and Discrete Mathematics. I'm starting Intro to C right now. I'm not seeing any real difficulties so far, so I guess my question is if it's plausible for an outsider like me with no programming experience to land at least an entry level software engineer job upon graduation? Any suggestions or comments will be extremely helpful. Thank you.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Rovision in Milpitas, California

68 months ago

My suggestion would maybe to try to get an internship or anything right now. I am currently looking for an entry level position into software engineering or QA. I previously worked as a Technical Support Engineer for 4D Inc (development application). I graduated with a computer engineering degree and finding it difficult not having enough experience with certain languages and technologies. Good luck in your transition!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

financetosoftware in Lowell, Massachusetts

68 months ago

Thanks so much for the suggestion.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

eagle1970 in Rochester, New York

66 months ago