Too old for software engineering

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 78 of 78)
Page:  « Previous   1  2   

red in Australia

49 months ago

I'm 36 and and in 1.5 years have worked my way from assisting a media dev team to study in the evenings in web design and now web development. I am now a media developer but learning programming in the evenings. Being one of 2 girls in the class and maybe considered old, is no issue, if you work hard you can do anything. My background is in digital Photography and retouching and i have always been creative, so it just goes to show it's extremely hard for me but anything is possible and i wished i has learnt this stuff like 10 years ago but at an all girls school it was considered too nerdy, so don't listen to anyone, do what you want to do. Tech is getting bigger and bigger and it aint going away!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (8) / No Reply - Report abuse

red in Australia

49 months ago

I think that is a bit b**s and egoist saying you have to be smart. Anyone can learn it if they work hard enough, loose the ego cause your not saving lives!!
Most jobs these days require you to be smart, i think there is a bit of an attitude in IT that you are all smarter than everyone else. I have doctors and anaethetists in my family that are saving lives and they have no ego at all, so to me they are the smart ones.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

rosalitajumpalittlelighter in Milwaukee, Wisconsin

48 months ago