Too old for software engineering

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (101 to 150 of 159)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

vivek in Hyderabad, India

28 months ago

Vampire in Lakeland, Florida said: My Boss who is 43 right now was in resturant business till 36, when he moved to computers by getting an associates degree in information systems. he is doing ok and is a senior analyst now.. so jump right in my friend,,

if u have good managerial skills, its all you need to climb up the ladder; programmers have their limits and only coding skills cannot take one to the top !

Yes u r absolutely right
There is a lot of difference between coding and managerial skills.i too believe a lot to succeed with the help of managerial skills but basically before going to that position u should have the skills of coding also ..i am an engineering student of computer science before i worked as a supervisor as for 2 years after completion of my intermediate i know the value of managerial skills where the person can go with his strategies.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

crypticsailor in Old Westbury, New York

28 months ago

There's tons you can do about it, you're just lazy. When you get out of work, study, learn, build projects. Be enthusiastic about what you do! Its the easiest way to get experience. Being a good software developer is about always learning, you should have known that when you got into the field. It isn't like a Homer Simpson career where you just get the job and sit on your ass and get paid. You clearly must suck at your job if you think H1B's who in general lack proper communication skills in English and have gotten through school with a group mentality(aka cheating) can replace competent programmers. The world is always falling for losers; grow up and take responsibility, the world doesn't owe you anything.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (7) Reply - Report abuse