Current rate for phone interpreters

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (44)

jenm0825 in Oakland, California

69 months ago

I am wondering what experienced interpreters are charging for phone interpreting these days. I have been freelancing successfully for three years as a face-to-face Spanish-English interpreter but am looking to fill in the gaps right now as I wait for the CA Court interpreter certification exam in August.

I have been offered a position as a phone interpreter but am finding the pay rate they have mentioned a little appalling.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (43) / No (9) Reply - Report abuse

ana laura in Los Angeles, California

69 months ago

hi Jen,

just wondering are you sure that the certification exam is in august? i was under the impression that there werent any exams scheduled. is there a website with the info? thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Giari in West Covina, California

67 months ago

I have been working for LL for 2 years. When I started I was getting paid 35 cents per minute. Recently they decreased it to 30 cents per minute. It works for me because we have 3 kids that I have to taxi around to school. I work around there schedule! But, the really money is working in Court if you are willing to travel. :)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (10) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

67 months ago

Sorry, should be "work around their schedule" not there!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

John in Venice, Florida

67 months ago

I worked for them about 18 years ago. It was 50 cents per minute. From what I see and hear it is more hassle for less money.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

67 months ago