How to become freelance Spanish interpreter

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 193)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Terry in Los Angeles, California

76 months ago

I have learned that in order to become an interpreter/Spanish for the Los Angeles Superior Court, I have to take some exam. Is there anything else? I would like to work as an interpreter, freelance preferably, part-time. Anyone know how I should get started? My native language is English and I have a master's in management with a lot of public school teaching experience. My Spanish language skills are intermediate.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (55) / No (9) Reply - Report abuse

carciniegas in Lawrenceville, Georgia

75 months ago

If you would like to become a legal spanish interpreter yes you have to take a test but you can receive a two day training course that will prepare you for it. You also have to be fluent in spanish and this test will definetly prove that. Have you tried healthcare interpreting? You can take a 40 hour class and get started in this right away the most recognized one is "Bridging the Gap" but there are also others that can offer you the same skills you need. I would call your local hospitals they sometimes offer "Bridging the Gap". Don't let people get you down with negative comments like the person above. Interpreters are needed and it's a growing field especially in your area. I'm from Georgia and currently legal and healthcare interpreter, you have a good education it just seems you might need to brush up on your spanish and take the necessary classes to train you, so go ahead everything is possible if you put your mind to it. Good Luck!!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (76) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

carina in Irvine, California

75 months ago