What are the best spanish teacher qualifications and training to get ahead?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (14)

Host

What is the best training for becoming a spanish teacher? What types of ongoing training or certifications are necessary to be an effective spanish teacher?

What do non-traditional career paths look like?

Reply - Report abuse

Maria in Chicago, Illinois

88 months ago

I would like to know what I need to do to have certification for teaching Spanish.
I have a Master in Education. After having send my papers to the Illinoi State Board of Education I was told that I need to get 32 credit in an Specific Social Science (EJ: Psychology), a field work and the following tests:
Basic Skills, APT, Specific Social Science and, in order to have the endorsement done in Spanish, I need to do the English and Spanish tests.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (19) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

Margarita in Salamanca, Spain

73 months ago

As far as I know you need to take the GRE.... if you have not taken it yet... then... what you need is only 18 hours of Spanish at te masters level. This is to teach in college (first 2 years). University level you need to have a PHD. For High school level you have to take the spanish certification.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Gabriel in Redmond, Washington

72 months ago

Hello all,

I would like to know what do I need to do, or have, in order to teach spanish after my regular job..? I was thinking like, nights at a community college, for example.

Any ideas...?

Thank you in advance.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (10) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Margarita in Houston, Texas

72 months ago

If you have a Bachelors degree you can apply to teach in a continuing education. I you want to teach at college level you need to have a Masters degree with 18 hours of Spanish.
Good Luck

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse