Looking to make myself stand out in the admissions process to master's SLP programs

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

egl0722 in Swansea, Massachusetts

40 months ago

Hi everyone. I'm currently a student at UMass Dartmouth (majoring in political science), and I'd like to ask about some ways I can make myself stand out in the admissions process.

Right now, it looks like I'm a junior. I say that lightly because the situation is complicated. Here's a quick run-through of my academic history:
-- I started at UMass Dartmouth in Fall 2008, majoring in political science. I originally wanted to go to law school, but then I decided I wanted to be an SLP instead and I thought that transferring to Temple University and majoring in therapeutic recreation would increase my chances of getting into an SLP program. So, in Spring 2010, off to Temple I went. I fully planned on finishing up my undergrad at Temple (by August 2012), but I sustained a moderate concussion in August 2011 and I had no choice but to withdraw from school for the semester.

Well, Temple made things exponentially more complicated when I tried to formulate my academic plan for when I came back in the Spring. Instead of pushing me back just one extra semester, Temple decided that I would need to come back for TWO extra years, plus both summers in order to graduate with a degree in TR. I know this is ridiculous, especially when I was slated for August 2012 and I only had two more semesters of undergraduate work (plus a summer internship) to complete. I spoke with everyone from the faculty members to my personal supervisors to the Chairperson and Deans of the College. Nothing.