Entry-level Substance Abuse Counselor?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Bradley Gauchat in Liberty, Missouri

71 months ago

I moved from Nashville, TN to Liberty, MO five months ago. I came with a summer internship but decided to stay. I have a Psychology degree and it has been my intention to be a alochol/substance abuse counselor. I have been sober one year and would like the opportunity to be in the field. How do I start?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

scarlett in Lancaster, Pennsylvania

71 months ago

I have been batteling addiction off and on for 9 years. I am now clean once again. I also have a college education and believe i could help people who have been through what i have. when you find the answer to your question would you please share it with me??

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Jeff in Wilmore, Kentucky

71 months ago

Bradley Gauchat in Liberty, Missouri said: I moved from Nashville, TN to Liberty, MO five months ago. I came with a summer internship but decided to stay. I have a Psychology degree and it has been my intention to be a alochol/substance abuse counselor. I have been sober one year and would like the opportunity to be in the field. How do I start?

Hey You live in Missouri, that will help. You do not have to get a master's degree in order to become a substance abuse counselor in Missouri. You have to get what is considered the equal experience and there are some specifics that you need. Look up the Kentucky lisencing board online and you should be able to find what you need. Keep working your program!! It is not enough that we stay dry, we must progress in our sobriety.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Candeeroxx in Dyersburg, Tennessee

56 months ago