Trying to get experience....

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

Veronica83 in New Bern, North Carolina

56 months ago

I graduated in May of 2009 with a BS in Business Administration concentration in Management. I am currently pursuing my Master's degree in Human Services, and I love the field. However, i'm having a difficult time getting employment anywhere. I even applied at a cafe, and didn't get the job, probably because I was too qualified. Then I get all the wonderful rejection letters of we have hired someone more qualified. I know that I don't have the most experience, but I have yet to get a job where I am actually using my degree. I was working as an accounting clerk, but it was almost an hour drive from my house and I only made $12 an hour. So does anyone want to hire a business graduate who is working on her human services mindset as well?? I hope it's not all in vain....I have to work in the eastern NC area due to my husband being in the military in Jacksonville. Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

rampagedriver in Portland, Oregon

56 months ago

Hi Veronica83. I can really feel where you are coming from as I'm somewhat in the same boat, having recently got a MS degree in Human Relations and Business, but not having the job experienced to seem to have employers want to hire me.
My solution may be to work as a consultant! This may work for you as well. Develop a plan to offer consulting services to employers. You can make good money and it should be easy to advertise for clients. Just a thought.

56 months ago

How exactly would I get into it rampage?

Samantha Tomes in New Bern, North Carolina

51 months ago

Hi there Veronica,