Getting a job with a Plastic Surgeon...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 58)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Vincent gage in Boston, Massachusetts

86 months ago

Ok first most Dr's offices will use med asst. Cost effective. Also the Doctor has to cover a ton of overhead if he is in private practice. If you are just starting out try a hospital first working more in plastics then try a job with a Doctor who knows you or can reconmend you to another Doctor. There are jobs for techs it just takes time. Where ever you do your rotation try to get in good with the staff and then you will get hired. if your a really good student.
I have been a tech for 20 yrs. learned in the navy.
My advice work in a big hospital in all services and you can write your own ticket. Also go to nursing school. techs are limited to just operating room. You can get lucky with a doctor making more money but it is luck and time.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (9) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Rebecca in Nashville, Tennessee

86 months ago

Thanks Vincent for the good advice. I was beginning to think I was the only one who was interested in this area.
It makes sense what you say about the Big Hospital and working in all the service.
I was thinking about going to nursing school, but thought I'd try this ( S.T.) first and see if it's something I really want to do and then further my education by going to nursing school.

Thanks again for your response !

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Jimmy in Sarasota, Florida

86 months ago