Organ Transplant

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

Ashley in Jacksonville, Florida

89 months ago

I am currently a ST student. It is my dream to work @ Mayo as a STSR in there Organ Transplant service! Any advice on how I can obtain my goal??

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Chris in Jacksonville, Florida

89 months ago

I worked on the transplant team for a year and a half and the experience was fantastic. I will how ever warn you it is not what is once was. Mayo is going through a lot of changes and most of them being negative. It was once a phenomenal place to work. If you truly want to be on a transplant team I would consider Baylor in Dallas TX or Orlando,if you want to stay in FL. I would also highly recommend you be a tech in the main OR for at least one to two years with a focus on major general abdominal cases. Transplant surgery are very long and intense surgery. You need a very refined and strong skill level as a tech to scrub something of that magnitude. Learning the cases associated with transplant alone is very challenging and combining that with building up a good scrub foundation would be very difficult. Anyways good luck and I hope everything works out. I still have a passion for transplant and had the opportunity to work with some of the best surgeons I have ever worked for thus far. If you get the opportunity to be on a team I am sure you will enjoy it.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

ConcordeTech in Jacksonville, Florida

89 months ago

Thanks so much :0)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

cynthia

88 months ago

i am a surgical tech an was wondering , are there any companies needing st for traveling to do organ or eye removal and getting this organ to the airport in a timely manner, i hear that there are these kind of jobs avail.thanks

IU in Allentown, Pennsylvania

69 months ago