Sterile Processing job

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 134)
Page:   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

anatomyrocks in Kansas City, Missouri

43 months ago

symempathy in Oakland, California said: Was anyone here a sterile processing technician before becoming a surgical technician?

I plan to take a sterile processing class in this Fall 2011 at Skyline College before I applied Surgical Technology for the Summer 2012. I think knowing a little bit about sterile field may help me when I'm in the ST program.

Does anyone have sterile processing job? Is it hard to find a job in that field? Thank you

I was a sterile Processing Technician and have every intent on going back to it. The pay isnt that bad depending on where you work as with all other jobs and everyone's experience is different. I enjoyed it and learned a lot. I am going to school for my surgical tech associates degree too. The good thing about doing sterile tech work first is that you get to know the instruments so when you become a surg. tech you wont have to worry about learning the them and your procedures too. I hear so many complaints about how the surgical techs lose jobs or get demoted because they dont know their instruments. So it just depends on how you decide to persue it...dont let the negative talk stop you. I saw a lot of negativity about being a surg. tech. but who cares I feel like those people arent in the right career field for them...you could go in an kick butt!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (18) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Kim, Hornell NY in Norristown, Pennsylvania

43 months ago

I have 15 years experience as a sterile processing technician. I currently hold a Certified Sterile Processing and Distribution Certificate, and a postition as a lead sterile processing technician. I have a Bachelors Degree obtained in 2002.