surgical tech or medical assistant

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Chavon in kennewick, Washington

54 months ago

I have always wanted to be a RN that works with babies, but I now have 5 kids and don't have time to finish nursing school... I am torn between surgical tech and medical assistant.... I can't seem to find any surgical tech jobs in the tri cities and I don't want to waste my time... where do surgical techs primarally work and does anyone know how in demand they are?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

michelle

36 months ago

Not sure what decision you have made in regards to tech school. But I wanted to add that nursing school could last 2 - 2 1/2 years. This could be the same for Surg Tech school if an Associates Degree is attached. It took me 2 1/2 years to complete and I was going full time and working full time, until clinicals came up. I have my Associates Degree in Applied Science with a Certification in Surg Tech. I sat for the National Board Testing and I am now a CST have been for three years and I love everything about my job except lazy circulators (RN's). Good luck to you, I hope you have found a great school.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Drew in Burke, Virginia

6 months ago