Breaking into Technical Writing

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (15)

Phyll in Boston, Massachusetts

74 months ago

I completed a Technical Writing course last year, but it has not gotten me very far. Even the most entry level technical writing positions elude me. I have 13 years of Accounts Receivable/Collections experience and admittedly very little Technical Writing experience, however I did not think that the most basic start would be so hard. What steps can I take to break in? I am willing to intern or freelance while I work fulltime, but I don't know where to begin.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (57) / No (11) Reply - Report abuse

Andy in Union Grove, Alabama

74 months ago

I graduated from college a few months ago and I am looking to get into the technical writing field. In my job searches, I haven't been able to find anywhere that will take an entry level writer. Somebody please help me find any where, particularly on the the East Coast, where I could start this career.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (15) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

shjef in Phoenix, Arizona

74 months ago

I wouldn't count on Technical Writing as a career. They are outsourcing Tech Writing to India.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (44) Reply - Report abuse

Writer in Mead, Colorado

72 months ago

I am a technical writer and have been for 12+years. I have never found work difficult to find. I was a secretary for years and evolved into writing along with school. It was actually a natural tranisition and I love it.
Being flexible, learning a technical field (telecom, storage, etc.) is incredibly helpful. Also having a good contact within the company - really use your networking skills.
Also I have not found the outsourcing of technical documentation to be a threat. It is obvious when a writer's first language is not English. It clearlydoes not work well at all.