Career Transition to Tech Writer?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Paul in Waterford, Michigan

81 months ago

I'm contemplating a complete career transition and would like to consider technical report writing as an option. I have a 4-year degree in business and have had several non-fiction books published in a field that requires solid analytical and writing skills, though none are technical in nature. I'm willing to go back to school and take more classes if necessary. Let me also mention that I'm in my late 40's. Do I have a reasonable shot of breaking into this field? Any suggestions, advice, or cautionary tales?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

PL in Iron Mountain, Michigan

80 months ago

Why do you want to become a tech writer? Have you considered being a Business Analyst? Speaking as a tech writer, you get little respect and any respect you do get, you have to fight for.

What industry are you considering?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Marry in Kingwood, Texas

79 months ago

Paul in Waterford, Michigan said: I'm contemplating a complete career transition and would like to consider technical report writing as an option. I have a 4-year degree in business and have had several non-fiction books published in a field that requires solid analytical and writing skills, though none are technical in nature. I'm willing to go back to school and take more classes if necessary. Let me also mention that I'm in my late 40's. Do I have a reasonable shot of breaking into this field? Any suggestions, advice, or cautionary tales?

You may be able to get a position right now. Just put the word out about your publications. Read up on the type of tech writing you would like to do and perhaps get a certification or two.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Techone in Portland, Oregon

66 months ago