Over experience and other dilemmas

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 271)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Michael Aprile in Elizabethton, Tennessee

72 months ago

I am a professional senior technical writer with over 28 years of solid, in-company experience across four industries. I honestly have a wonderful record of experience, a solid work record, and have mentored others. To make it even better, I have operated my own business in website and graphic design and managed a graphic design department for a major ministry for over three years. I have experience in most of the industry softwares and know hoe to work with printing companies to get results. Some other factors are that I am 58 years old, desire to live in a lower population region, away from really big cities in the Tennessee. I have applied at some fairly major-sized companies, none of which are high-paying, and even expressed that I do not ask for more than they are willing to offer for their position.

My question is: Why can't I seem to land a position (job) with the companies to which I apply? I have been to a couple interviews, but do not get the job. I always landed the job when I got an interview in the past. Maybe someone can give me the scoop and some advice.

I am sick and tired of being out of work. I would be an asset to a company. Most companies have this back hole process of sending resumes on-line only and I never hear back from them.

Thanks, Michael Aprile

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

AMRAM in Middletown, New Jersey

71 months ago

Michael,

1. Don't list gigs on your resume older than ~10 years.
2. Color your hair (professionally!) and stay thin.

That's what I do and I'm 60 years old.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Techone in Portland, Oregon

70 months ago