Technical Writing Abroad?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (17)

Rebekah in Plano, Texas

65 months ago

Hello all,

I'm curious if anyone has any advice about working abroad as a technical writer. I currently work as a technical writer, have around 2 years' experience, and have a Master's degree in Technical Communications.

I'd like to relocate abroad, but I only hold a U.S. passport and have heard it's tough (especially in this economy) to get jobs in Europe and elsewhere with only a U.S. citizenship. Nearly all of the online job sites require you to hold an EU passport (for Europe jobs) or already have your work visa lined up (for most other countries).

At the same time, though, I've heard that in many countries, American IT professionals can often get work permits because there is a shortage of IT professionals. Is this true? And as a technical writer working in a software development environment, am I also considered an "IT professional"?

I've explored individual STC country and region sites, but the jobs there seem mostly outdated or require citizenship. I haven't had much luck either with trying to understand immigration laws for "highly skilled migrants" (the category I think I would most likely fit under).

Is there anyone out there who has worked abroad as a tech writer and might have any advice as to how I might go about finding a English-language tech writer job overseas? I would be happy with pretty much anywhere in western Europe (particularly France, Belgium, or Italy), but I am also open to Asia and Latin America. Actually, I'm pretty much open to anywhere except Iraq, Afghanistan, or "combat zones." :)

Thanks in advance for ANY advice!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Melissa Hudson in Augusta, Georgia

65 months ago

Rebekah,