What do entry-level technical writers need?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Christine H in Chicago, Illinois

40 months ago

Hello all. I am thinking of changing my career to technical writing (amongst other possibilities). What credentials/experience to companies typically want in entry level technical writers? Currently, I have a Bachelor's and Master's in an unrelated (or very distantly-related) field: Education.

However, I can understand a variety of texts, can research and synthesize information quickly, love writing (I have a blog, have written articles for a couple newsletters and am an Examiner on examiner.com), am good at long term planning (and breaking projects/information down into smaller parts), have a knack for classifying information, work well independently (but can work cooperatively as part of a small team) and have an interest in computers/internet. So I think I still have many skills that are necessary for technical writing, but no formal training or technical writing job experience (unless I dig out all the writing skills I have used in teaching).

Is it necessary for me to get formally trained? If so, do I need another degree or would non-credit coursework be good enough to get me in the door?

Any advice is much appreciated!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Chris at Tech Pubs Solutions in Warwick, New York

40 months ago

Christine... Realize that there are many different types of technical writing. Whatever your current job is may be a factor in the type of technical writing you go into. For instance, pharma is in a world of its own and a chemistry or similar background would help. Technical writing for the banking and insurance industries also requires a specific skill set or education. In addition, for certain types of writing you may need an electronic background. It also helps if you have photography and illustrating skills.