HELP!!! What to do for new grads that didn't get enough clinical experience?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

L6870 in Dallas, Texas

20 months ago

I graduated from an "accredited school" where we were taught everything in 2 years: echo, peds echo, general, ob/gyn and vascular. While I thought this was great at first, I realized it is too fast to sufficiently become prepared. To make a long story short, we received 1 day/wk rotation our first semester (general), 2 day/wk our second semester (general), a 5 week rotation our first summer (OB/Gyn) (3rd semester), 2 day/wk in echo 4th semester, and then another 5 week rotation our very last (5th) semester. Most sonographers I know had a 6 month internship and got a ton of hands on scanning experience. I've found that the time my school gave us was NOT sufficient. Another student from my class was blessed in finding a full time job where they were willing to train her. It took them 5 months to train her and they basically stated that they had to "start from square one".

Before I get the haters on here (specifically one woman in general who rudely commented on a previous post from months ago) saying that I didn't try, don't care, put in no effort, etc, I'd like to add the following: 1.) Most hospitals I was at were so busy that the technician would let me scan for 5 minutes while he/she "did their paperwork". Obviously unsupervised time is no help. 2.) I would go in and practice with my friend at school, but when professors wouldn't show up to help, that is useless. 3.) I was on time, asked questions, took criticism. I could go on and on about other efforts.