Sonography Job Shadowing Issues?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

Ashlee in Lebanon, Tennessee

19 months ago

I'm interested in becoming a sonographer. The only problem is NO ONE will let me observe them. I'm shocked. I work as a pharmacy technician and have for 4 years while attending school. I've had to go through HIPAA once a year throughout that time. So the whole "HIPAA" thing was my first thought.

But I've gone in person, called and everything. I had one manager/supervisor go off on me because she said she gets calls everyday and it's frustrating her but she did not say why. She never mentioned HIPAA so I'm starting to wonder why? I had asked my advisor and she said none of her students had problems finding observation places? (I'm about to go back to her to meet and ask what to do). Out of 8 places I called/visited, 7 of them rejected me on the spot or did not return my call. I am required to have 20 hours of observation for my senior level college project in science and can't get it done.

Anyways, if anyone who is a sonographer could answer why no one will let me job shadow them I would love to know. I would hate to be a burden on someone who is trying to do their job, but at the same time how will I know whether or not I want to do the job if I can't observe? Or if I do want to do the job, which area would be something I would want to consider?

Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Karry in Massachusetts

19 months ago

Maybe call a local ultrasound program and ask what they do? My school set us up for our observing, but it was only 4 hours. I am guessing as a student now, we have to fill out tons of paperwork to do our clinical time. Maybe its just too much work. Did you try maybe OB offices or womans clinics, local health department?

Ashlee in Lebanon, Tennessee

19 months ago