What are the CONS of being a vet tech?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 150)
Page:   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

Natasha in Fontana, California

70 months ago

Athena in Concord, California said: I am a Registered Veterinary Technician in Cali. This job can be very difficult and very rewarding. The pay can be good if you go in the right direction. As soon as i got my license I went from $13 an hour to $18...immidiatly. After a year of having my license I was promoted to Dept. Lead and was making $26 an hour with full benefits.

Now the down side is that it is a physically and emotionally demanding job. I herniated two discs, was exposed to rabies and have been bitten too many times to count. Some times the vets are really rude. I have worked for vets that cuss, throw things and act like two year old. Many vets are very cheap and find any way possible to save a buck...whether it be at your expense or the animals...it happens way too often. Many techs are WAY under paid for the tasks they are expected to do. The hospital dynamic can also be very challenging. It is mostly a female dominated field and with that comes cattiness. It has happened at every hospital I have been to.

WOW thats great! was the reason for the $13hr because of no experience or no license? I applied for a vet tech position and I have no experience or license. I saw a job posting in Pasadena that said non license salary pay avg range $14-17hr and licensed $17-21hr. Do you think I would get a job with no experience as a vet tech especially in california? And is your hospital hiring?

natasha_hylton@msn.com

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (37) / No (34) Reply - Report abuse

mary in Alhambra, California

69 months ago