Having a life outside of work...(are your hours too erratic?)

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

onedoorclosed in Wilmington, North Carolina

41 months ago

Hi,

I've been working as a stablehand for some years now and am looking for a change. I believe I would love the work of a vet tech...I have the dedication to the horses--nearly gone crazy and broke and maxed out on caffeine in consistently understaffed barns to do my best for them. But I've pored over these discussions and other internet-provided statements from vet techs, and noticed a thread of discontent...well, several, but one I'm particularly concerned about.

Since I graduated college (with a completely unmarketable degree, hence the stablehanding), I haven't had any day of the weekend off, rarely had two consecutive days off in a week, sometimes had only one day off and for one memorable stint no days whatsoever. I think the fewest hours I've ever worked in a week was 50; more often somewhere between 60-80, sometimes paid for overtime and sometimes not. The hours have been erratic and all over the place; I've often been more or less 'on-call' and essentially not allowed to stray too far from the premises or take vacation time (it was there, theoretically, but I couldn't take it because there was no one to fill in). This together with the barely-minimum-wage pay has made it damn near impossible to have either a social life or any life outside of work whatsoever. And this, I've decided, is not okay.