Interview for practicing Vet Techs-project

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

Julie in Brenham, Texas

62 months ago

Hi! I am doing a project for my intro to biomed class on starting a career as a Vet Tech, I would really appreciate if any practicing techs would fill out this survey for me! I'm trying to get atleast 5 people online and then 5 more i will go to vets and do in person. Thank you so much for your time!

Name:
Position: Vet Tech (large animal, mixed or small animal?)

Years of practice (total):

Do you work in a city, large town or small town (under 5,000 people)?

What is your yearly income:

What qualifications do you have? Certificate? Hands on experience or a degree from AVMA accredited school?

In your personal opinion do you think all vet techs should be trained by a school prior to working as a Vet tech?

What do you dislike about your job?

What do you enjoy about your job?

Was it hard for you to find a job?

Are their ways to specialize or progress in this career field? Other than becoming a vet?

What are the three most important qualities in a Vet Tech other than love for animals?

Do you work on Holidays?

Thank you again soooo much. I really do appreciate your time. The responses to each question can be as long or short as you feel neccesary.
-julie

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

CindyRVT in Henderson, Texas

62 months ago

Name: Cindy Dittmar, RVT
Position: Vet Tech (large animal, mixed or small animal?) experience both in small animal practice and equine practice

Years of practice (total): 16

Do you work in a city, large town or small town (under 5,000 people)? currently in a small town though previously worked for 12 years in practice in Dallas and Fort Worth

What is your yearly income: currently I am doing relief work so my pay varies depending on the amount of extra help clinics need. When working full time in DFW 10 years ago I earned $31K a year.