Veterinary Technician degree and Physical Therapist Assistant degree at the same time?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Nitch.Taymer in New York, New York

42 months ago

I realize this question might seem odd.

I have come to a point in my life where I am looking for a new career. I have had certificates in the past, but it is my first time going to college (am turning 30 this year).
I am very torn in choosing a major.
If I really listen to my heart, I would love to get a degree to work as a Veterinary technician (and maybe down the road go to Vet school, but that is not something I am planning on deciding for a while.) Sadly the position as a Vet Tech is very underpaid, and I am afraid that I will not be able to contribute enough financially to my future plans (starting a family..and living in either NY or FL).
But I also do not want to enter a major just for the potential pay I might get later. I want to have a job that makes me happy.
Another major I am interested in is a degree as a Physical Therapy assistant. I've researched the field a lot, and find it very interesting, plus the pay seems a little higher.It is a second choice, as working with animals would be the ultimate thing for me if finances weren't an issue, but I could very well see myself working in that field and it making me happy as well.
Do you think it would be realistic to start pursuing both those degrees at the same time? I am planning to go to LaGuardia Community College in NYC which offers both programs.Provided I get in,since both have limited seating. If I do get into both,I am thinking that it might take me about a year longer or more than just one degree, considering that I already have the majority of the core requirements for both.