Does this type of thing happen to everyone starting out? -- Costumers leaving : (

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

anon in Clinton, Iowa

66 months ago

Okay, I'm pretty new to waitressing (less than a year) and I usually get a pretty small (and slow) section on the weekends, because my manager knows this. When she finally decided to move me into a bigger section I was so happy and felt proud because I thought she had faith that I'd finally be able to handle it. Then the restaurant had a huge rush, which I'm not used to at all because there is barely ever a rush in the section I'm normally in. I felt like I had a ton of tables at once and I handled most of them except two I couldn't get to so I asked another waitress to help out. But, by the time she got to one of the tables the customer was really angry and just left and she told me and I felt horrible.

Another incident like this happened to me another time a while back as well and I still feel bad about that one.

I just feel like I'm the only one this happens to and I've let myself down and I feel like I've let my manager down as well since she finally thought I could handle this situation.

Does this kind of thing happen to everyone starting out or am I just really bad at my job? And, how do those with more experience handle this sort of thing happening, I really want to learn how to have a faster pace and work with these situations.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

keep it honest in Austin, Texas

66 months ago