Interview Preparation

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Keeper2Be in Roanoke, Virginia

48 months ago

Hey everyone,
My goal is to become a curator or assistant curator in the next few years, but I have been searching for work as a zoo keeper for the last 2 months or so. For qualifications I have a Bachelors and a Masters in Animal Sciences and I volunteer at the AZA-accredited zoo in my area. Though I do not have as much experience as someone that is already a zoo keeper, I am hoping that I peak enough interest with HR to at least get an interview eventually.
My question of for those who have gone through this before...how long until you heard from a zoo about an interview and what the interview process like? Any additional help would be appreciated- thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse

TurkeyVulture in Portland, Oregon

48 months ago

Hi, keeper2be --

Generally curators and assistant curators work their way up into those positions after many years (a decade or more) of work as keepers, then lead keepers, then collection managers, and finally assistant curators.

As you've probably already found out, keeping is very competitive. There are often hundreds of applicants for any given position at the better zoos, and it takes a sharp resume to catch HR's eye.