How can I get an entry level accounting job? NEED HELP!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

James in Surrey, British Columbia

36 months ago

I am currently a level 4 CGA student, and thinking about obtaining CPA as well, once I get a job to finance myself.

To the point, I am so desperate to get a job in accounting field!

To enhance my qualification, I have been working without pay in a small accounting office for 6-7 months. After 6-7 months of experience, I am finally getting a few interviews. So far, no luck for me yet. Sadly some interviewers question me why I have been working without pay, looking at me like I am an idiot. I am just a determine individual who even quit well paid job in a laboratory to change my career in accounting. Another issue I have is time. Since I am working nearly full-time Mon-Thu, I have not much time to develop network or search for jobs.

Even more frustrating, how the employers nowadays expect entry/junior level person to have 2-3 years of experience. How can I have 2-3 years of experience when nobody is willing to provide me one.

I am trying to stay positive, but as time passes by, I am depressed and upset. Praying to God, Buddha, ancestors, etc, but they seem to be on vacation!

Can anyone advise me anything to get a first job in accounting? I will appreciate any comment or advise.

Thanks

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (29) / No (9) Reply - Report abuse

Elena in Fort Worth, Texas

31 months ago

Don't lose hope! I'm from Russia. In Russia students find job when they study. There is a secret: friends. Try to find friends in your professional field:) Good luck!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

Sam in Kitchener, Ontario

28 months ago