The best part is...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

Host

What do you enjoy most about analytical chemist work? What do you dislike the most? Is it challenging? Are there many opportunities to learn and advance?

What keeps you at your job?

Reply - Report abuse

Tom in Parkville, Maryland

65 months ago

I have been working in an analytical lab for over 7 years. Mostly doing trace metals (ICP, AAS, DCP), wet chemistry, chromatography and FTIR. It can be challenging at times due to the different types of samples (plastics, ores, liquids, coatings, etc.). There are a lot of opportunities, and a lot of companies like having them, but unfortunately they don't like paying them. Salary range is anywhere from 35K - 70K, depending on education, with most willing to pay about 40-50K. What I dislike the most is Engineers not understanding how tough it can be to analyze certain samples. They think you just put the sample in the machine, push the button and Bingo- there's the result.I don't know how to do anything else, so that is why I continue to do what I do.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

cake in Lynnwood, Washington

61 months ago

Don't complain about that salary range...at my lab I'm only making $27K--and no, I'm not a lab tech. I'm an analyst. I've been doing wet chemistry analyses for three years.

It's an environmental lab so I don't deal with a lot of engineers but the clients we get are the same way. Some of them are even worse! Sometimes they don't even get the concept that we have to actually test the sample in order to give them results. It's like they think we automatically know the results as soon as they hand us a sample. They also don't get that there are 200 samples in line ahead of theirs.
I usually don't need to deal with the clients, though. That privilege is for project managers :)