AUTOMOTIVE TECHNICAINS DONT GET PAID WELL !

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (251 to 300 of 1174)
Page:  « First « Previous   3  4  5  6  7  8  9  Next »   Last »

steven in Orange, Virginia

58 months ago

You know I feel like a rock in a hard when commenting on this debate. I am a professional technician that considers it my career, on the other hand alot of what the older techs are saying is true. The auto industry today, has taken on more of a retail ideology. Get it in get, get it out, and sell sell sell. Now common sense will tell you that business exists to make money, but are business has a technical side that most other types of retail business does not. In my opinion what is truly killing this industry, or at least the tech side of it is that the people in chrge are business people, not car people or those with technical knowledge.

Now the argument there is that a business needs to be run by business people, the business side of things if you will. However like I stated previously, our business as a technical as well. If you are going to run a business, then In my opinion you need to be knowledgable about all aspects of the business, not just one side of it.

That is where I believe the conflict lies. The techs in essence, play a vital role in dealer operations. The way the economy is at this present time, not to many new cars are selling, but people will and do fix their cars when needed. Its the only option they really have. Service Advisors, Techs, and Parts generate more money for the dealer then car sales do, people do not have to buy a new car, but eventually they will have to service or repair the one they do have.