Automotive Technicians for fair pay

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (11)

frustratedtech in Bensalem, Pennsylvania

35 months ago

I am a automotive repair technician. I have worked in the industry for 12 years. I have not gone to technical schools but have received factory training, apprenticed, and self taught through reading and web-based training. I am very good at what I do but am increasingly dissatisfied at the constant drop in flat rate labor times and the decreasingly poor pay employers wish to pay us. More and more I see dealerships and aftermarket shops alike use Mitchell and All-Data to figure out service labor times. I am currently working for a chain repair shop and it is the second of its kind in my last year of working that I have looked to and I have worked at 2 different dealerships in the last year. I have noticed that the times that these companies want to use out of Mitchell and All-Data Do not seem to incorporate many of the variable factors to decide labor times such as hand tools, shop lay-outs, technician knowledge, parts time, test drive, or tool cost. Instead it seems as all they do is find the lowest time and not the average labor time, and use all of the top time-saving tools that cost us as technicians 10's of thousands of dollars. I am looking for support from my co-workers and piers. We need to join together and push towards a fair labor standard and pay system. I feel we should be licensed to work in this field and if we were we could better demand a fair pay for our investment. If you are interested in trying to develop a requirement for licensing to work in this field to achieve a better standard in our field both in quality and in compensation, then we need to act and require licensing to work in any repair facility in the U.S.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (15) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Brad Francis

31 months ago