Union Journeyman Carpenter Looking for Work

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (351 to 400 of 605)
Page:  « First « Previous   5  6  7  8  9  10  11  Next »   Last »

Tired in Gardner, Kansas

46 months ago

To much wasted energy with thes conversations.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Devils Advocate in Mount Holly, New Jersey

46 months ago

I'm a construction manager and have been working in both Union and open shop enviroments for over 25 years, and yes I too was laid off (from a Union shop) 2 years ago and landed in an open shop situation.

Here's the facts EVERYONE has the right to work and if an "open shop" worker decides to hang trim for $15.00 per hour its his right. I dont seem to find too many hard facts in these postings......6 1/2 hour union workdays..ya know with "break". "lunch" and the oh-so loved time waster "15 minute clean up"... I've been on job sites where you dont need a watch because the jobsite gates are blown off the hinges at 3:15.

I've seen cabinets left 1/2 hanging off the wall because at quitting time the "union brother" put down the screw gun, in lieu of taking another 5 minutes to comlete the task

I truley beleive the unions are getting what they deserve and as 1 poster put it the "brotherhood" is ALL about keeping cronies, organizers and friends working, not the common everyday union carpenter who isnt connected to the business agents.

Good luck to all, like I said everyone has a right to work, but the unions just need to look at themselves against the private sector and realize we all do "a littel more" to keep our employment sitaution stable...not run out the door because we can't give an additional 15 minutes of our time without additional compensation, or filing a grievance

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse

josesanchezcarpenter2010@hotmail.com in Roselle, Illinois

46 months ago