8 yrs since graduation with no experience; job opportunities?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

John in Portales, New Mexico

48 months ago

I graduated from college in 2003 with a B.S. in Engineering with Civil Specialty. Upon graduation I commissioned into the USAF in an aviation capacity that required a long term commitment. That commitment will be up in a little over a year and I've started to weigh my options. I want to move on to something else as my job, although amazing, no longer challenges me and I feel that ~10yrs of service is sufficient to repay the debt I felt I owed when I commissioned.

I'm not sure I want a desk job yet, but one of my options is to utilize my degree and get into the engineering field. Upon graduation from college I took and passed the EIT but if I were to try to take the exam again at this point I would fail catastrophically. I've forgotten most of the high level math that I learned through school. I still remember all the basic science/physics principles that apply, but detailed, by hand, engineering analysis would escape me.

I graduated from a prestigious institution with a 3.29 that put me in the top 5% of the graduating class and will have 10yrs of work experience with supervisory/managerial positions included, but I honestly can't offer much to an employer in terms of applicable technical skill at the moment. The only marketable takeaway that I will have is a Top Secret - SCI security clearance but beyond functioning as a indication of character I don't know how prevalent the need for a security clearance is in the Civil Eng. field.

Would I be competitive for an entry level job with a 10yr gap in engineering related experience?