Have a BSCE degreen I received 14 years ago. Any chance I can get an entry level postiion?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

SP in Colorado

62 months ago

I have BSCE degree I received 14 years ago. After graduating I found it difficult to find a job. I ended up in IT since at that time they were hiring anyone with the slightest programming experience. I've been doing hardware testing for HP for several years. Now I think I am about to lose my job. I want to start over again. I'm sick of IT. I want to use my Civil Engineering degree. What do you think my chances are of getting a CE job vs. a recent graduate? I have lots of experience and some of it is relavent but it's been 14 years since I graduated. Am I "damaged goods"? Thanks for your help.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

e2thex in Mesa, Arizona

62 months ago

If you never got your EIT certification, I would recommend doing that as a first step. Passing the FE Exam will at least provide proof that you haven't lost everything you learned 14 years ago. That being said, the FE exam will be pretty tough if you haven't been exposed to the material in such a long time. A study/review course would probably help alot.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

rs

59 months ago

I think you're damaged goods. CE has become so much about knowing the latest software and less about any technical knowledge you have. You can know the CBC from cover to cover and all interviewers ask if you know RIVIT.
Some things, like surveying, are almost 100% changed from 14 years ago because the instermentation is totally changed (GPS and total stations vs tranists and chains)
Having passed the EIT or PE exam is almost worthless if you don't have they typical 10 exp.
Entry level jobs have gone mostly to internships and you need to be in college to even be considered.