Too late to be a civil engineer

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Craig_tus in Tucson, Arizona

59 months ago

I started out in school in 1995 to become an aeronautical engineer. I got distracted and ended up working in the aviation business as a mechanic for about 10-years. 9/11 pretty much has slowly brought this career to it's knees. After talking to the three civil engineer's in my family, I decided to start working towards becoming a CE. I am now 32 years old and have been working as a construction inspector for a municipally owned underground utility. My job includes inspecting new construction of wastewater and water lines and facilities. I have been doing that for the last 2 years.

I am tentavely expecting to have graduated with my BSCE in spring of 2014, at 37 years of age.

Will my age have an impact on the opportunites to get a job as a EIT or eventually a CE? I just finished my math (thru calc 2 and dif equations) as well as physics and chem. I am just about to start the lower-level engineering classes and then the CE specific courses.

I don't want to devote a significant amount of time and engergy into something that I really want if only to have my age keep me from job opportunities.

Anyone have any input or personal experience?

Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

CE@34yrs in Woodbridge, Virginia

58 months ago