What other non-computer career changes can I go into since Cobol basically is dead?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 158)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Rich in Boston, Massachusetts

73 months ago

Rich in Boston, Massachusetts said: What career changes other than computer programming have other Cobol developers went into since Cobol been basically dead since the year 2000?

I am now 55 years old divorced male. I have been an IBM Mainframe Cobol programmer with around 22 years experience. However, since the year 2000, I have been struggling to keep my career alive. Since 2000 and up to the current year now 2008, I would get Cobol jobs here and there. Also between the years 2000-2008, I would go through long stages of being unemployed. There really isn't hardly any Cobol jobs around anymore. When there is a Cobol job, it always is located in an either a rural or undesirable city or state which I would have no interest to relocate to.

I updated my computer skills 8 years ago to keep my computer programming career alive since Cobol is dead. I learned Javascript, ASP, HTML and Microsoft Visual Basic. But even though I updated my skills, not one company wanted to even interview only because I don't have "working experience with these upgraded skills".
Anyways, now I would like to hear back from people who have been in similiar situations and what they did about it?

I am thinking that my best bet is to get into some other kind of career which has nothing to do with computers. Maybe owning some kind of business would be a good idea. I don't think it is a good idea to good back to school and learn a different career because once I graduate, will I get a chance to get a job with my new career or will it be a big waste of time and money and never get a chance.

So, if anybody who is in my situation has any advice for me, I would appreciate hearing from.

Thanks.