Residential Construction

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

cwhill7 in Charlotte, North Carolina

59 months ago

Why won't Commercial companies even consider me for employment, when I have over 14 years as a residential builder?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

RobInStLouis in Waterloo, Illinois

59 months ago

I'm in the same situation. I was a residential for seven years and they won't call me, either. I suspect it's because of the differences in construction processes. Of course, there's a world of difference between residential and a refinery. I'm wondering about how I can fare by going back to school and getting my construction management degree. They all seem to want it.

jmichaelkel in Windsor, California

59 months ago

I do not think it makes a difference. I have 25 years in the industry and I am a journeyman carpenter, have a degree in Construction Management, and I am a CA state licensed contractor. For the last 21 years I have worked as a commercial project manager. This economy sucks. I have spent the last year applying for hundreds of jobs (some outside of the box) and have sent out hundreds of resumes. I am lucky to have gotten a handfull of responses - most of them thank you and good luck. Only one resulted in an interview. I have tried to get on with some of the LOGCAP IV contractors but they are only looking at those with previous LOGCAP experience. I have resorted to putting back on my bags and doing small residential remodels, decks, fences,...anything that makes a buck! The commercial sector is dead and there are very few Tenant Improvements or commercial buildings coming out of the ground these days in California.Being a small start up contractor is futile as there is nothing to bid and what there is to bid ivery competitive, almost cutthroat with out of area contractors coming in and doing work for nothing. Anybody need a good guy, contact me. I will relocate.