Older Workers in Construction

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 61)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Joanna in Loughborough, United Kingdom

85 months ago

I am a researcher who would like to hear from older construction workers to find out your experiences of the industry. What skills do you bring to the job that younger workers are missing? Does the work become physically harder as you become older? Do you feel you have ever been discriminated against because of your age? I would love to hear from you.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (36) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

jon phillips in Houston, Texas

84 months ago

i'm 54 yo. i have done construction work my whole life,i can't buy a job in houston because of the hispanics.go to a job site you won't find a white or black man on the crew.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (28) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse

Bruce in Fenton, Missouri

82 months ago

My name is Bruce from St. Louis, Mo.Im 49 y/o . I went to heavy equipment/crane school in Oklahoma earlier this year. The school said there is a placement sevice( they hand you a list of phone #s
the day you graduate). Tell you its not a
problem for an older person to get a job,
because the younger guys cant pass a pee test ok ........St louis VERY heavy union town , which Im not against. Every
app I put in I get told you have to go to the union school in Silex Mo to get a union card. So I work for ADB a utility
contractor(non union) terrible pay. I apply for a operator job. They put me in as a laborer, hand digging ditches 10 hours a day. I just got let go on day 89, because, I couldnt keep up with the
other laborers half my age.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

william draper in Trenton, Missouri

82 months ago