MA in Counseling—advice on grad. programs & jobs?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

moscatomg1 in Las Cruces, New Mexico

24 months ago

[Part. 1] Given all the folks here on the job market search, I thought this would be a good place to voice these concerns.

My background: Since it’s relevant, my background is that I have no background in counseling or psych. I have a BA in English and MA in communication. I am an adjunct faculty, and I feel I need to go back to grad. school in order to leave academia. I do want to listen to and try to help troubled individuals like my own students—but I also want to help myself get out of the black hole of the humanities in academia. I *think* I am most interested in adult mental health counseling (for substance abuse or anxiety/depression) or, preferably, student mental health counseling at a college/univ. setting. Given what I see just in these forums, I don’t know how realistic either of these is in the current job market. (However, online US. govt. resources indicate large future growth in substance abuse counseling.)

Applying to grad. programs: For any MA Counseling program I apply to, I need to find three crucial components given my background: 1. a program that does not require several counseling/psych.-related prerequisites, as so many seem to demand 2. a program that offers solid funding for the MA or MEd (assistantship plus tuition waiver), and 3. a program whose admissions process is not too competitive (I have a 3.88 GPA and solid professor lors for my MA but very low GRE scores). So far Bowling Green (School of Intervention Services, not the Ed. Dept.) and NMSU look like possibilities. (And Canada in general looks good as far as no GRE needed, though most programs require a previous psych./counseling degree). But I am anxious to know of more potential programs given these variables.

[post cont.]

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse