a wise industry for career changing?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

jenny in Warren, Ohio

47 months ago

For all the counseling professionals out there, I am wondering how you feel about your occupation, its future, and your future. Are jobs hard to come by? Are you satisfied in your work?

I hold a business degree and have been in the typical office atmosphere. Not too much stress, and honestly pretty boring and predictable. I am very driven to do something that will help others. I do not care for details on company figure's, I care more about details in people's lives. I love people and have a general curiosity about them. I like to learn who people are, what they feel/believe/desire/etc. I also love to share information and useful tips. Naturally, I tend to offer advice on anything I know to family, friends, co-workers, and even people I just met. I become energized by helping people with issues I have dealt with myself in life- from deciding on a college major, weight-loss and food addiction, debt management, and even legal matters (since I have a history that resulted from alchohol).

I have a strong desire to motivate and encourage change that others want in their lives.

I am wondering if perhaps a career in counseling would be for me, or if I should just look for something that has some of these elements but would not require more school beyond my BA such as recruiting/staffing, etc. I am aware that most licensed couseling work requires a masters and more, so it would be a commitment that I want to be sure on.

If I did get into counseling, I think I would be most interested in working with adolescents, juvenile offenders, and other corrections areas.

I would love to hear anyone's thoughts, ideas, advice, or just general beliefs from people in this field.

Thank you for any replies! :)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

pembrb in Cincinnati, Ohio

33 months ago