NCCO /NCCER Just plastic

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 201)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Russ Downs in Crystal River, Florida

67 months ago

I have been operating equipment since the early 90s. Last November I decided to get my crane cert. I attended the Georgia School of Construction to prep me for the exams (job placement sucks). I scored 100% on the practical, and 90% plus on the core and large hydraulic. I recieved my NCCO and NCCER cards and I might as well use them to cut up bananas. Emloyers are looking for yrs of experience not plastic. I have been building sub stations for wind farm projects from Texas to Illinois to PA and have yet sat in a Hydraulic crane. I am a Operator for the IBEW and my pay ranged from $17.64 hr to $39 hr plus benefits and per diem. What I am getting at is if you plan on going out and getting your certs without crane experience and landing the job right away, you are up for a dissapointment. I have seen operators that could butter toast with the hook and then there are the ones that its a miracle they negotiated the walk to the crane. I have seen so many unsafe acts in regards to cranes in the last yr, its unreal. I left $34 an hr in Illinois because management would not prevent unsafe lifts. When the safety director left the site it was lets get this done anyway thats possible. Everything can be done safely, its engineered in.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (16) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

haulbot1@yahoo.com in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin

67 months ago

I agree that NCCCO card is worthless and I have 14 yrs of operating Drywall booms not the same but I Know I can swing steel or pipe to start not big critical lifts but they all want 5 yrs exp:where do you get that if now one will hire you.I also don't feel I should have to start at the bottom of the scale in the union but not the top also.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse