crane mechanic

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (32)

jhammond_82 in chambersburg, Pennsylvania

74 months ago

I am currently a crane mechanic at Grove in Pennsylvania. I make decent money, but there is always room for improvement. I know how to operate almost all of the grove cranes, less the new TMS9000 and the GMK series. I do not have my NCCCO license however. But I'm pretty good with a wrench and electrical trouble shooting. Does anyone know where I might be able to find a job doing this? I am willing to get my NCCCO but, it is alot of money for me, I would like to find a company that would help with paying for the license. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (8) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

The General

74 months ago

Do you want to stay as a mechanic or be an operator....? If you want to stay as a mechanic have you worked on many liebherr mobile cranes ?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

jhammond_82 in chambersburg, Pennsylvania

74 months ago

I really enjoy working on cranes. I have never worked on a Liebherr crane, but I have seen them, and looked at them. From what I saw, I don't think they are much different than a Grove crane. As far as hydraulics they look pretty much the same. Electrical, can't be that different, right? I don't know anything about the LMI system's in the Liebherr, although I would think it would be similar to Grove's. As far as being an operator goes, I would like to, but only if the right opportunity came along. The mobile crane is what I used to build as a matter of fact. I built the Grove TMS series, so I am familiar with a mobile crane style. I work at the CAC (customer acceptance center) so I work on a wide variety of different models of cranes.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

jerry in East Elmhurst, New York

74 months ago