Advise for Potential DH Student in GA

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 96)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Ashley in Dalton, Georgia

74 months ago

Hi Everyone!
I'm a student at Dalton State and I have recently changed my major from Pre-Pharmacy to Pre-Dental Hygiene. I want to enter a dental hygiene program in Fall '09. I have a 3.2 GPA but I definitely want to improve that in the next years. Im going to apply as a transiet student at Coosa Valley for one class each semester to ensure that I have options as far as which schools I can apply to. If anyone could advise me on admissions, schools, and what to expect after graduation(salary, job prospects, etc.), I would greatly appreciate it!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

anonymous

74 months ago

I just graduated dental hygiene school from Geogia Highlands in Rome in May and I am searching for a job. If you plan on applying for Georgia Highlands, they would not accept classes from a technical school. Other technical schools such as West Central Tech. in Douglasville will take those classes. I took classes at Dalton State for 3 years and then transferred to GHC to finish up some of the core classes that DSC didn't offer. DH school is very hard but it will definitely pay off in the end. Finding a job has proved to be much more difficult than I could have ever imagined, but I am hoping that something will come along soon. The pay is very good, especially if you head towards Kennesaw, Atlanta, etc. I know that the salary for Dalton is also great as well. Just make sure that you follow the catalog for the school that you wish to attend because my "advisor" at DSC told me to take the wrong science classes, so I wasted a lot of hard work and time. Don't follow DSC's catalog, just the dental hygiene school's requirements which should be listed on the website. Hope this helps!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse