Being a dental hygienist in the Army?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (17)

Natasha in Ann Arbor, Michigan

73 months ago

Hello everyone!
I am currently thinking about applying for a dental hygiene job in the Army Medical Command. Is anyone currently working in this setting that can tell me what it is like? Any info. on the chance of getting a position and if it is worth would be greatly appreciated!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

suzanne in Terre Haute, Indiana

72 months ago

Hello,
I can tell you the pay is a lot less, about $17/18 an hour to start. Benefits are good but you still have to pay for insurance and contribute to retirement. I just accepted a position so don't know much. I have been applying for a couple of years on USAJOBS so for me it has been a slow process. I do think there will be security and stability. That's why I'm taking less pay. good luck

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No Reply - Report abuse

BM in Raymond, New Hampshire

72 months ago

suzanne in Terre Haute, Indiana said: Hello,
I can tell you the pay is a lot less, about $17/18 an hour to start. Benefits are good but you still have to pay for insurance and contribute to retirement. I just accepted a position so don't know much. I have been applying for a couple of years on USAJOBS so for me it has been a slow process. I do think there will be security and stability. That's why I'm taking less pay. good luck

Hi Suzanne, I'm going off on a tangent on your career. Have you considered practicing LAW?, maybe from the Dental aspect?
From the many questions you have posed (sp?) and answers given (very informative and alot has happened as far as your career, etc...)it might be the next level! It would be great to know an R.D.H. could be represented by someone formerly in their field. BM

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

suzanne in Terre Haute, Indiana

72 months ago