Canadian hygienist moving to California

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Xmuffin in Toronto, Ontario

18 months ago

Hi, I've been practicing dental hygiene for two years now in Toronto, and I have a permanent resident card for the US. I am planning on moving back to California, and am wondering if anyone has useful information to share.

I will be taking the National board exam prior to moving, and I'm taking the expanded duties course in Sacramento. I believe the next step would be the California state exam and practical? I haven't read many positive posts regarding the California state exam, but all information is appreciated and helpful.

Thanks everyone :)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

RetiredRDH in Ottawa, Ontario

18 months ago

Hi Xmuffin,

I have some tax information for you to consider before you commit to a move from Canada to the USA. The USA is the only country in the world, that taxes citizens, permanent residents, and green card holders on income regardless where it is earned or where that person lives.

Until recently, this law was not enforced, so alot of former US residents who did not know this was the law, did not file annual tax returns. In 2010, the USA adopted FATCA (foreign account tax compliant act), which will require banks in all countries to report on the accounts of all 'US persons' (citizens, duals, former residents, green card holders) directly to the IRS.

Firstly, what this means, is that if you return to Canada down the road, you need to be aware that you will continue to have to file US tax returns every year, and possibly pay US taxes. There is some tax relief due to a US-Canada tax treaty, but it is difficult to escape from some double taxation. The costs to file USA tax returns are more expensive and complicated than Canadian tax returns.