First day of dental hygiene job...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

undergroundmole214 in Washington, District of Columbia

35 months ago

Hi everyone! I am a recent dental hygiene graduate and just started my first day as an RDH this week. (Had family problems after graduating so just started practicing since school this week.) I got a temp position that could've turned permanent, but I turned it down for one reason: ethics. The RDH who quit last week left to another state and I am filling someone's experienced shoes. They are giving me 15 minutes to do a FM scaling and polishing. Regardless of their periodontal and gingival status, this is the treatment for everyone. I do perio charting for myself but the dentist doesn't care whether I don't go over medical exam or perio chart, EOIO, anything but scale. I spoke to the office about being new and should at least be given 30 minutes, but they are scheduling 4 pts an hour! Then they get mad at me on Tuesday for keeping the office late after hours. I know the program taught us how to deal with this dilemma, but I am concerned that if I report, I will also get in trouble because I've been working here for a week and can't afford to lose this job. Need to pay off loans, rent, bills! I'm afraid that my notes are evidence that I didn't give quality care and I am also responsible to have my license revoked. I am quitting today but I still want to report the office for negligence. The dentists don't care that I leave calculus when they do the exam after my "cleaning". Will I get my license revoked if I reported the office myself? Thank you!!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

RDHCJ in Boston, Massachusetts

34 months ago