I'M HAVING PROBLEMS DETECTING CARIES

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (12)

newgradbc in Surrey, British Columbia

43 months ago

hi everyone.
im a new grad and i am having problems detecting caries and watches. like whenever the dentist does the rc exam he asks me if i saw anything and i tel him but i'm still missing some of them sometimes. any tips?? help a a girl out!! :)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

1RDH in Airdrie, Alberta

43 months ago

newgradbc in Surrey, British Columbia said: hi everyone.
im a new grad and i am having problems detecting caries and watches. like whenever the dentist does the rc exam he asks me if i saw anything and i tel him but i'm still missing some of them sometimes. any tips?? help a a girl out!! :)

Its his job to detect caries. Unless it's something obvious (which he should note) don't stress about it. Focus on the hygiene; tell him your periodontal findings and he'll catch on.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse

Anys6 in fort collins, Colorado

43 months ago

Yes, it's Dr's job to dx decay. You can help out by discussing problem areas to pt before exam. Old fillings that are leaking, soft areas around crown margins etc. 4 eyes are better than 2. Ask your doc what to look for.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Grace Kelly in South Dakota

42 months ago

yeah the doctor expects me to diagnose dental caries in the mouth I'm like well I'm not the doctor.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Skitch33 in Littleton, Colorado

42 months ago

I always let the doctor know before she comes in for an exam, any obvious signs of decay or fractures, but when they patients ask, "Do you see any cavities?", I'll reply, "well I'm going to let the Dr. take a look!" :)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

marie in Houston, Texas

42 months ago

that's what i say too