My first day...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (15)

lago in Austin, Texas

57 months ago

So I am a new grad, and just got my first job at a seemingly great place. Did anyone else feel totally incompetent on their first day? I feel like I gave the crappiest care, which kills me. The staff was nice enough, but I feel like maybe I made a bad decision going into this field..any thoughts?? I know I am not the BEST hygienist, but I really care about the patients and the care I give them. I know that I have a ways to go before I master this career, but is this normal?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (8) / No Reply - Report abuse

30 year vet in Edmonton, Alberta

57 months ago

Lago,
This is normal....new grad...new job....you feel like you're watching the patient walking out the door thinking to yourself that there's still calculus in their mouth..... Don't worry.....you'll get it next recall!! Seriously...don't worry..... Be pleasant....with patients and staff...and smile.....relax and smile......let people know you want to learn...let people know you're open to ideas or ways of doing something easier etc.... The most important part is making that patient feel comfortable with you...and that they liked your office......you'll get to 'everything' as you practice...no worries...

good luck....hey...i'm flying to austin on thanksgiving day!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No Reply - Report abuse

exp in Newmarket, New Hampshire

57 months ago