My profession is leaving me behind...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 229)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Beth in North Las Vegas, Nevada

73 months ago

Hi everyone! I have been a hygienist for 14 years. I graduated from the University of Detroit - Mercy (I see that there are a number of Michiganders on this site). Due to my husbands job, I have lived all over the country and even overseas. Unfortunately when I graduated from school hygienists in Michigan were not allowed to administer anesthesia so I was never trained or licensed in this area. I now live in Las Vegas and I cannot get my license through reciprocity here so I would need to re-take a clinical exam as well as take an anesthesia exam. I feel that my profession is growing and leaving me behind! Does anyone have any advice on jobs for hygienist outside of the clinical realm? I have to say that I am a little nervous because for the first time in my life I feel that I am not able to take care of myself. Thanks for listening to my sob story!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (18) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

dana in Baton Rouge, Louisiana

73 months ago

Beth:
I have been a dental hygienist for 25 years, however, for 15 of those years I worked as a pharmaceutical sales rep. Many hygienists with a BS Degree work in this industry. I liked it a lot - especially the money.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

73 months ago

Thanks for the suggestion. I might have to look into that.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

DJL in Toronto, Ontario

73 months ago

Beth in North Las Vegas, Nevada said: Thanks for the suggestion. I might have to look into that.

Many RDH's work as sales reps for dental supply companies. With your years of experience, you can also consider working for the dental practice consulting/coaching services.