Proffesionalism in Dental Hygiene Schools

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (25)

Student in Baltimore, Maryland

42 months ago

Hi!I am currently a student in a dental hygiene program in Baltimore, Maryland and I am having a very difficult time with the faculty in my school. However, I have really hit my limit with my program's lack of professionalism across the board and wanted to know if this was a common situation for dental hygiene schools.Firstly, there are staff that do not know the first thing about the subject he/she teaches. I do not mean not knowing the answer to a question I mean that they do not know the answers to the questions on their own tests! Secondly, the entire staff in general is extremely negative to each other and to us . They speak disrespectfully about each other us and the other students to anyone and everyone. When I first started I thought I had stepped into a nut house with people who all needed medication but werent getting it. Teachers would literally throw a tantrum if the schedules were messed up and there was an extra student in a class that werent supposed to be there. Thirdly, there is extreme favoritism played to students based on color, race or other factors. This has been told to us by the students before us and is clearly true. Two students can do the same exact thing and one gets severely penalized and the other gets a small reminder. Fourth, the clinical knowledge of the some of the staff is completely incompetent. One of the instructors, specifically, will come over to check a patient and state that calculus was left of tooth 4, 5, and 6. The teacher will leave and for a few minutes the student will pretend to scale while not doing anything. The teacher comes back, feels around and says "yep, everythings gone". Lastly, the grading scale contains no objectivity. What one teacher may fail for another gives an A for. A friend of mine had a patient one semester and received an A for th